Board of Trustees

Burke is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees. Members are appointed by the Commissioners’ Courts in Burke’s service area. 

Current Trustees
Col. Howard Daniel Jr., US Army Ret. (Chairman)

Randy George (Vice-Chairman)

Frances Scoggins (Treasurer)

David Cozadd (Secretary)

Lois Ball

John Howard

Jim McReynolds

Judge Steven Doug Page

Sondra Williams

Ex Officio Members
Sheriff Jason Bridges

Sheriff Bryan Weatherford

Melanie Taylor – Burke CEO

Board Meeting Agendas
See below for agendas of Burke’s recent board meetings. For information about meeting times and locations, please call 936-639-1141 or e-mail

Board Agenda – July 2021

Board Agenda – June 2021

Board Agenda – May 2021

Board Agenda – April 2021

Board Agenda – March 2021

Board Agenda – February 2021

Addressing the Board
In all Board meetings, the agenda will include an opportunity for visitors to make comments. It is the policy of the Board of Trustees that these comments will be limited to three minutes unless otherwise approved by the Board. Visitors who desire to speak on an agenda item must complete this request form by 10 a.m. the morning of the board meeting unless the agenda item is a closed session item, then the request must be completed at least 24 hours prior to the start of the meeting. Requests may also be made in person at the Burke Central Administration office at 2001 S. Medford Drive in Lufkin during regular business hours.