Local Sheriffs Appointed as Ex-officio Board Members for Burke

Burke, the Local Mental Health and Intellectual and Developmental Disability Authority for the Deep East Texas region, recently announced the ex-officio appointments of Tyler County Sheriff Bryan Weatherford and Nacogdoches County Sheriff Jason Bridges to its Board of Trustees. The appointments result from Senate Bill 632 of the 86th legislature, which promotes Local Mental Health Authority (LMHA) cooperation with the criminal justice system by directing all LMHAs to appoint sheriffs or sheriffs’ representatives to their local governing board as ex officio non-voting members.

Burke provides mental health and intellectual and developmental disability services to individuals in 12 East Texas counties (Angelina, Houston, Jasper, Nacogdoches, Newton, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, and Tyler).

Nacogdoches County Sheriff Jason Bridges will represent the larger counties of the region, and Tyler County Sheriff Bryan Weatherford will represent the smaller counties of the region.

For more information about Burke and its Board of Trustees, visit www.myburke.org.